hot, cold, lukewarm. Revelation 3:14-20… some thoughts.

“To the angel of the church in Laodicea write:

These are the words of the Amen, the faithful and true witness, the ruler of God’s creation. 15I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! 16So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth. 17You say, ‘I am rich; I have acquired wealth and do not need a thing.’ But you do not realize that you are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind and naked. 18I counsel you to buy from me gold refined in the fire, so you can become rich; and white clothes to wear, so you can cover your shameful nakedness; and salve to put on your eyes, so you can see.

19Those whom I love I rebuke and discipline. So be earnest and repent. 20Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me.”

~at first thought, and even at multiple x multiple thoughts, this sounds like if you dont do works, Jesus will spit you out of His mouth, causing you to lose salvation. Which is possible! If i am completely wrong about my belief of the Gospel, Salvation, and God, this might be right! extremely right! but since i dont believe like that, let’s see how great i can twist it. Let’s see, in Laodicea there were jews, so okay the very thought of two covenants is automatically brought to mind. So this is what i’m thinking, the Laodiceans might have been in a mix between two covenants and not full in the new making them lukewarm, Jesus said He wishes they were either one or the other, but since that wasnt the case, He was about to spit them out of His mouth. To me this says, ‘i am about to spit you out of my mouth, you will not be my ministers/preachers of my word.” OK, that’s fairly plausible right? I think so. Here’s another one that comes to my mind, i went to google and learned that there were jews in Laodicea, but not only that! they controlled some sort of money flow. Now this is makin sense too(for me atleast). It seem like the Laodiceans might have been so engulfed with their money, instead of Jesus. this is their works it seems, not only so but it seems like they were so engulfed with their money and activities with the money that they became so lukewarm, that they were poor, blind, and naked. All the attributes of an unbeliever. Jesus tells them, whoever hears my Voice and opens the door, i will come in and eat with that person, and they with me. Too me, that is saying, whoever comes to me, i will by no means cast him away. Were the Laodiceans forgetting about Jesus? Or were they, as the common view says, just not working and about to lose the salvation they had to keep by works? I think they were forgetting and abandoning Jesus. It’s like if i win the lottery and decide i dont need Jesus anymore. Or maybe they could have been jews who were in a mix between old covenant and new and not fully in either. The Lord be with you!! No condemnation! Grace through faith, not of works, wins!

Image

This entry was posted in creation, evolution, God, love, truth, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

